He Is Your Portion

When you think of the word, “portion,” what comes to mind right away? Portion in the dictionary means: “piece, share, or allot.” You can say, “His portion or share was larger than hers.” Or, “The mother gave each child a portion of the meal.” This would indicate that it is a part of a whole, but not the whole in itself.

Portion can be described as an amount of food for one person. Portion can also be described as a part or section of a whole. Portion can be described as an unavoidable event of, or part of someone’s life. You can say, “A portion of my life I spent going to school.” You can describe portion as part of an inheritance.

Luke 15:12

“And the younger of them said to his father, ‘Father, give me the portion of goods that falls to me.’ So he divided to them his livelihood.” 

Here are a few synonyms to describe what earthly portion means: piece, part, bit, segment, section, fraction, scrap, slice, serving,   percentage, quantity, measure, or ration.

Elisha received a double portion of Elijah’s anointing (2 Kings 2). Elijah’s anointing or mantle was powerful and Elisha received double. This would indicate an allotment. When it comes to God being our portion, what does that mean for us?

Scriptures of God being our portion

 1.  Psalm 16:5 (KJV) “The LORD is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot.”

Here are a few translations of this same verse to help us get a better understanding of the meaning:

CEV “You, LORD, are all I want! You are my choice, and you keep me safe.”

GW “The LORD is my inheritance and my cup. You are the one who determines my destiny.

BBE  [Bible in Basic English] The Lord is my heritage and the wine of my cup; you are the supporter of my right.

GNB  You, LORD, are all I have, and you give me all I need; my future is in your hands.

MSG  My choice is you, GOD, first and only. And now I find I’m your choice! 

This verse shows us that portion refers to: “All we want, An Inheritance, A Heritage, or My choice [first and only].

Also looking at the later part of the verse in those translations opens up so much more meaning of how God takes care of our future: “You keep me safe, The One Who determines my destiny, My future is in Your hands, You are the supporter of my right, I find I’m your choice.”

God is all we need for our every need, want, and desire. He holds our future in His hands. All we are and everything we will be is in His hands. This brings peace because we are trusting in Him and walking with Him daily, obeying His word. Our obedience brings favor from God.

2. Psa 73:26  (KJV) My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. 

CEV  My body and mind may fail, but you are my strength and my choice forever.

GNB  My mind and my body may grow weak, but God is my strength; he is all I ever need.

BBE [Bible in Basic English]My flesh and my heart are wasting away: but God is the Rock of my heart and my eternal heritage.

MSG  When my skin sags and my bones get brittle, GOD is rock-firm and faithful.

Portion is translated in the Hebrew as “inheritance, or allotment.” If you think of God as our inheritance, or allotment, it changes to a deeper meaning still. He is what we receive as His heirs. All of Him. Everything about Him. All His character attributes. All His power! All His love! All His peace! He is our best friend when we are lonely. He is…

3. Psa 119:57  (NKJV) The LORD is my portion; I have promised to keep Your words. 

CEV You, LORD, are my choice, and I will obey you.

GNB You are all I want, O LORD; I promise to obey your laws.

MSG Because You have satisfied me, God, I promised to do everything you say.”

He satisfies our every need. He is all we want. The question is; “Will you receive all He has for you?” Another meaning in the Hebrew for portion is, “partake.”

4. Psa 142:5 (HCSB)  I cry to You, LORD; I say, “You are my shelter, my portion in the land of the living.”

Let’s place the word “partake” in this scripture. “I cry to You, LORD; I say, “You are my shelter, I partake of you in the land of the living.”

We partake of God. We taste and see that the Lord is good. We devour His Word. It is bread for our daily consumption.  We need to look away from our selves and focus on Him, the True Bread of Heaven, the hidden manna that is our portion everyday.  The Bible is meant to be bread for daily use, not cake for special occasions.

BBE [Bible in Basic English] I have made my cry to you, O Lord; I have said, You are my safe place, and my heritage in the land of the living.

GNB  LORD, I cry to you for help; you, LORD, are my protector; you are all I want in this life.

You are all I want in this life!

When Christ is our portion, any desire and want, other than Christ, seems to fall away. He becomes our desire and our heart cries out, “You are all I want in this life!”

We crave a lot of things:  Food, cars, jobs, friendships, certain drinks (Coffee), but do we crave, do we hunger for the Living God Who will fulfill all our longings? He is the Living Water. You can drink from the well that never runs dry. You will never be thirsty again. Just one moment in His presences changes you forever. You begin to see what you desired before was just rubbish compared to the fellowship you receive from Christ.

I remember a time in my life when I was praying one day. Many years ago I was striped of so many things after a bad choice I had made. I was feeling the pain of their lack in my life. I longed to have fellowship again with my previous friends. I longed to have my bad mistakes erased and go back to what I had. I ached in my heart and I cried out to God in the middle of that ache. Yet, it was my fault and I made the mess I was in. (Read more about this in my book, The Garbage Man Always Comes On Fridays,” ) But I desperately cried out to God to have mercy.

As I poured out my pain to Christ, He came! Christ came and comforted me right there on the spot. He didn’t change my circumstances, but started healing me from the inside out. This changed my perspective. This began to lift the burden of regret and I saw Christ for who He really was in my life. Jesus is STRONG! He is ALL LOVING!, and ALL CARING! He is PEACEFUL, and ALL SURROUNDING! HE BECAME MY PORTION and I partook of Him. How did I do that? I worshipped. I took my eyes off of me and gazed at my beautiful Savior! I allowed Him to fill all the voids in me.

Soon, the pain of regret was not so painful because I inherited His presence and His love and forgiveness. Stillness and quietness came over me that settled deep within my spirit as I saw all my striving cease. I partook of all He had for me at that moment. Since then, He has given more of Himself, and more revelation of Who He is to me.

Why does God only give us a portion? If we partake of all He has for us, we would be so overwhelmed and our human minds could not comprehend what and who He really is. He gives us more than enough at the very moment we need it.

God is good and He only gives of Himself the portion we can contain at a given time. He has a never ending reserve just waiting for us to partake. It is our inheritance. This makes us want to go back for more and more of Him. This makes us say in Psa 73:26  My flesh and my heart faileth: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever.

He is what we need at a given moment. He is what we desire. He is always available. He is always willing to come and comfort us. He is always there.

When I desire something now, I measure it up with Christ and what I have in Him. The truth is, whatever it is, never measures up! Nothing, NO ONE can fulfill all my desires like Christ can.

What desire, needs, or wants do you have right now? Have you spent time in God’s presence? Do you have a hunger for God and the things of God? Ask God for the hunger, He will give Himself to you.

He is your portion!

If you need peace…

If you want guidance…

If you are lonely and desire friendship…

If you long for fellowship…

If you desire ministry…

If you long for healing…

If you need comfort…… He is your portion

Desire God more than all of these things and He will touch those areas you have lack in.

Let us partake of Him today! Let us lay down our desires and only desire what God wants. This will make us what God wants us to be and what we were created for!

Pastor Kris Belfils

www.krisbelfils.com

www.hopefellowshipspokane.com

www.krisbelfils.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

