Can God Be Trusted?

Can I trust God? Will He really pull through for me? Does He hear me when I cry out to Him? Am I in this alone, because God seems silent?

These questions and more have been spoken many times from God fearing Christians. We don’t see an answer and we get nervous and start to doubt. We expect our prayers to be answered right away; on our timeframe.

God is not moved by time or space. He sees everything. He knows everything. Your circumstance is ever before your Creator. He knows what you need, even before you need it. Trusting God is an ongoing process.

“Trust Jesus, and you are saved. Trust self, and you are lost.”

Charles H. Spurgeon (a sermon on personal service)

That’s a profound statement, and so true.  If we trust ourselves, we can lead ourselves astray. Our human nature wants to rely on our self. After all, we’re always there, always looking out for number one, and we think we know what’s best for us. Unfortunately we don’t see the whole picture to really make the best decisions.

God sees everything. He knows all about you and your character. He knows you better than you know yourself. He created you! Therefore, the Creator knows more about His creation then that creation knows about itself.

God created you for a specific purpose and plan. He “knit you in your mother’s womb,” (Psalm 139:13 Amplified Bible) and you’re “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalms 139:14 NKJV). He knows you. He knows how you will respond or not respond to things. It’s wise to trust the Creator of our lives for everything. For what He created is wonderful and marvelous, and our soul knows very well (Psalm 139:14b NKJV).

Trust is faith in action. It believes God is working on your situation. Even though we don’t know just how God is working, He is! Even if we can’t see Him working at the start, He is!

Our eyes and understanding are limited. When we don’t see the results we want, our faith falters, and we are left with worry and doubt. I know, I’ve done it many times. But, in those moments of looking and not seeing, tell yourself, “Hold on!” Say out loud, “I can trust Him!”

When you don’t see God’s hand working out your troubles, trust His heart. His heart is for you! He’s making a way where there seems to be no way. He’s restoring you. He’s working out your situation for His glory and in His time.

God wants us to trust Him with all things. How do we do that? If we do trust God, will He make us do something we don’t want to do? Would He change us into something we don’t want to be if we give Him total and complete control? It’s hard to trust until we read more about why we should trust.

The trust issue in my life was big. I fought and struggled with it. I was reading in the Psalms and noticed so many passages that mentioned trust and what happens when I do trust Him. I found over eighty-five verses between NKJV and CEV that talk about trusting God and what the results will be. In the Contemporary English Version, the word, “trust” is translated as “wait”, “hope”, “believe” or “steadfastness”. They seemed to be interchangeable; also “love” and “mercy” are interchangeable as well. Knowing the facts about trusting God helps us to trust Him.

In the chart below you will find some of the verses on trust in the book of Psalms. First column is the verse, then Translation, then Trust Factor, and then the results. (There is more of this article after the chart)

Psalms Trust Factor

VRS     TRANS     TRUST FACTOR                                                 RESULTS

2:12b    NKJV      Blessed are those who put their trust in Him      Blessing/favor

4:5 NKJV/CEV   Offer the sacrifices of righteousness and trust  Obedience/favor

5:11,12   NKJV    Let all those rejoice who put their trust          Joy, defense, favor

7:1 NKJV         O LORD my God, in You I put my trust               Safety, deliverance

9:10 CEV/NKJV   Everyone who honors Your name can trust You  God is faithful

11:1   NKJV      In the Lord I put my trust                                               Surety

13:5 NKJV       I trusted in Your mercy                                       Forgiveness, salvation

16:1   NKJV      In You I put my trust                                                Preserves me

17:7   NKJV      O You who save those who trust in You             Salvation/rescues

18:2   NKJV   My God, my strength, in whom I will trust      Rock, fortress, deliverer

18:30   NKJV   He is a shield to all who trust in Him                  Shield, protector

20:7 CEV/NKJV  Some trust the power of chariots or horses     We trust You, surety

21:7   NKJV   For the king trusts in the LORD                                 Shall not be moved

22:4   NKJV   Our father’s trusted in You                                           Deliverance

22:5   NKJV   They trust in You                                             They were not ashamed

22:8   NKJV/CEV   He trusted in the LORD                               Rescue, deliver

25:2   NKJV/CEV   O my God, I trust in You                    Not ashamed, not defeated

25:5   CEV    I always trust You                                            Guide, instruct, safety

25:20   NKJV    I put my trust in You                                  Keeps, delivers, no shame

25:21   CEV/NKJV   I trust You                                            Integrity and uprightness

26:1   NKJV   I have also trusted in the LORD                 Vindicates, shall not slip

27:3   CEV    I will trust You                                       No fear in the face of war

27:14  CEV    Trust the LORD!                                              Strength and bravery

28:7   CEV/NKJV  I trust you completely.                         Strong shield, help

31:1   NKJV   In You, O LORD, I put my trust                 Never ashamed, deliverer

31:5   CEV   I trust You                                                           Faithful, rescued me

31:6, 7  NKJV/CEV    But, I trust in the LORD                      Glad, Rejoice in mercy

31:14   CEV/NKJV    I trust You, LORD                                   I claim you as my God

31:19   CEV/NKJV    For all who honor and trust You    Blessings stored up for us

31:24   CEV     All who trust the LORD                                          Cheerful and strong

32:10   NKJV/CEV   He who trusts in the LORD            Mercy surrounds, gladness

33:18   CEV     Honor and trust His kindness                             LORD watches over

33:21   NKJV/CEV    We have trusted in His holy name                   Hearts rejoice

34:8   NKJV     Blessed is the man who trusts in Him             Blessed, God is good

34:10   CEV     But if you trust the LORD                           Never miss anything good

34:22   NKJV     Those who trust in Him                            Never condemned, saved

36:7, 8   NKJV    Children of men put their trust            Lovingkindness, satisfied

37:3   NKJV/CEV   Trust in the LORD and live right                     Desires of heart

37:5   CEV    Trust Him to help                                                           God will lead you

37:7, 9   CEV    Trust the LORD                                               The land will be yours

40:3   CEV/NKJV  They will honor and trust You                New song, blessing

42:5, 11   CEV    I trust You!                                                God removes depression

43:5   CEV     I trust You!                                                   Not discouraged/restless

55:23  NKJV/CEV    But I will trust in You.                         Destruction to evil men

56:4   NKJV/CEV  In God I have put my trust                       No fear, safety

56:11   CEV/NKJV  I trust You                                                   No fear, no harm

57:1   NKJV     For my soul trusts in You                                 Mercy, refuge

61:4   NKJV    I will trust in the shelter of Your wings       Fellowship, shelter

64:10   NKJV    Be glad in the LORD, and trust in Him     Gladness, shall glory

71:1   NKJV    In You, O LORD, I put my trust                        Never be ashamed

71:5   NKJV    You are my trust from my youth                          Hope

84:12   NKJV    Blessed is the man who trusts in You                    Blessed

86:2   NKJV/CEV   Save Your servant who trusts in You    Preserves life, salvation

91:2   NKJV/CEV  My God, in Him I will trust                  Fortress, place of safety

112:7 NKJV/CEV His heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD   Steadfastness, no fear

115:11  NKJV/CEV  You who fear the LORD, trust in the LORD      Help and shield

119:42   NKJV    For I trust in Your word                              Gives answers

119:66   CEV     I trust Your commandments                    Gives wisdom/good sense

119:74   CEV    I trust (hope) in Your word                      Your servants will be glad

125:1   NKJV    Those who trust in the LORD               Cannot be moved

130:7   CEV    Israel, trust the LORD!                               Mercy and salvation

143:8   NKJV/CEV  For in You do I trust                     Loving kindness, guidance

(I have a full and complete chart in my book:  “The Garbage Man Always Comes On Fridays.”)
Now that we’ve looked at the Psalms and what they have to say about trusting in the Lord, I have to mention one of my favorite scriptures. It’s been the theme of my life.
Proverbs 3:5 – 6

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths.”

Waiting on the Lord was all I could do at times. I couldn’t rely on myself and my thinking because it brought too many bad choices. My wisdom is limited and self-centered. I had to lean on the Lord constantly and not my own understanding. I realized if I relied on my own understanding I would fall, but if I relied on God and his word, I was stable.

During my devotions and journal writing one morning, I came up with this little reminder to help me trust the Lord:

Total

Reliance

Upon the

Surety of

Truth

It’s totally laying yourself at the feet of Jesus, knowing he’s the only One who can help you. There were times when it was all I could do to just get out of bed in the morning, let alone trust that God would bring me out of my mess. You may have felt the same way at times. Feelings of fear and uncertainty can overwhelm us if we let them. Personally, I had to tell God, “I don’t feel like trusting You right now, but I will trust you for trust’s sake.” Believe it or not, it helped me get through that moment. God is trustworthy even when we don’t feel or believe he is. Trust God for trust’s sake, if you can’t find any other reason to. God will meet you there.

When we taste and see that the Lord is good, we forget our concerns and doubts about God.

Psalm 34:8 – 10 (NLT)

“Taste and see that the LORD is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him! Fear the LORD, you his godly people, for those who fear him will have all they need. Even strong young lions sometimes go hungry, but those who trust in the LORD will lack no good thing.”

It is better to trust in the Lord then in anything or anybody else in your life. Trust God for He is trustworthy!

Your sister in Christ,

Pastor Kris Belfils

www.krisbelfils.com

www.hopefellowshipspokane.com

One thought on “Can God Be Trusted?

  1. Trust is a big issue in my life/walk. It’s been hard for me to trust people.
    I love it that you have all these Psalm verses listed to help us see our trusting in the Lord! I’m going to go through them one by one.
    Encouraging!

Leave a Reply

